Home > Links, Weekly Link Dump > This Week 05: November 1st, 2009

This Week 05: November 1st, 2009

It’s that time again.  Or rather, it’s a day past that time again, because I sort of forgot.  Without further delay, have a mix of old stuff (like 2006 and 2003!), The Shining, Albert Einstein, CSI, Egypt, Star Wars, pants, Moscow, Everquest and chimpanzees.

This week I enjoyed:

It’s a trailer for The Shining presented as a family-friendly, heart-warming film.  It comes all the way from distant 2006, but I’d not seen it myself, which makes it sort of new, right?  It has a very slightly different atmosphere to the original trailer (at least, what I think is the original trailer, there are lots of fan-made ones on YouTube).

I was saddened by:

Einstein’s One Great Mistake – It’s a letter from Albert Einstein to Franklin Roosevelt, suggesting to him that it should be possible to create bombs out of uranium.  It led to the creation of the Manhattan Project and the bombs that dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and Einstein apparently considered the letter ‘the one great mistake in my life’.  It must have been an incredible weight, to think that a letter was ultimately responsible for over 200,000 deaths.

I was incredibly amused by:

CSI Tech

Click the image for the full thing.

It’s a perfect send-up of how ridiculous certain police shows can be when dealing with technology, treating it more like magic than anything close to realism.  I don’t actually watch CSI, but programmes like Bones and 24 aren’t immune to it, and plenty of films do it too.  Police actually catch criminals without such wizardry, so it’s always annoying to see it turned into magical technology saving the day.

I was fascinated by:

Animals Everlasting (found via BoingBoing) – The Egyptians were pretty serious about the whole mummification and life after death thing.  Even animals were mummified with care, as companions, food for the deceased, or tributes to the gods.

I was more amused than I should have been by:

Top 278 Star Wars Lines Improved By Replacing A Word With “Pants” (found via Chainmail Bikini) – This is from back in 2003 and it really is childish.  “I find your lack of pants disturbing.” “Chewie and me got into a lot of pants more heavily guarded than this.”

I really liked:

Cloudy Weather – It’s just shots of some Moscow skyscrapers in foggy weather, but there are a couple of shots (the first in particular) that look like they could come straight out of a science-fiction futuristic city.

I was surprised by:

I Kept Playing – The Costs Of My Gaming Addiction (found via Rock, Paper, Shotgun):  I fell into WoW pretty heavily when it launched (and for the next several years), but the biggest casualty was just my gaming habits, as any time spent playing other games seemed like wasting time in something that wasn’t WoW.  The linked article details Kotaku’s Mike Fahey’s experience of Everquest addiction, losing pretty much everything so that he could keep playing, which makes my WoW habits look positively healthy by comparison.

This Week Follow-up:

The Story Behind Our Photo of Grieving Chimps (found via BoingBoing) – Back in the This Week 03 I included a photo of chimps gathered around to watch a deceased chimpanzee being taken away.  Through the link is the explanation of what happened around the photo, including, “Some chimps displayed aggression while others barked in frustration. But perhaps the most stunning reaction was a recurring, almost tangible silence. If one knows chimpanzees, then one knows that [they] are not [usually] silent creatures.”

Film of the Week: Nothing.  The only film I watched was The Lawnmower Man, which doesn’t really deserve the accolade.

TV of the Week: Stargate Universe (the Darkness and Light combo)

Game of the Week: Brutal Legend again (for the final week, as I completed it).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 24, 2009 at 00:39

Leave a Reply

