Home > Features (Gaming), Gaming > Gaming: Project Pile of Shame

Gaming: Project Pile of Shame

A Pile of Shame

These aren't my games. Click the image for a link to the source.

Update: The project has a dedicated page here that will include links to each post as I make them.

Most people seem to end up with a gaming Pile of Shame, a collection of games bought or gifted that for various reasons never get played, and rearranging the computer room today made it clear how many games I have that I’ve never touched, even just from this console generation.  In part that’s because it’s not just my collection, there are games there bought for or by relatives that I had no interest in playing (and in some respects makes it a Pile of Crap more than a Pile of Shame). Others have just been overlooked though and I’m curious to see if there’s anything that really appeals to me that I want to see through to the end.

It turns out others have been thinking along the same lines as journalist Daniel Lipscombe put up a blog post just hours ago suggesting a similar idea. His idea does differ slightly – it mostly seems to be games he wants to play whereas my collection has some I’m absolutely not interested in, and includes games he’s not completed yet whereas I’m only considering games I’ve never played before – but is similar enough to make me look like a shameless copycat. Regardless, here’s the list of console games I own but have never touched:

Xbox 360

The 360 has been my primary gaming machine since late 2006 so I have a lot of games for it compared to the other two systems, so while I have played a lot of 360 games there are many still to go:

  • Alone in the Dark
  • Beowulf the Game
  • Blacksite: Area 51
  • Blue Dragon
  • Bomberman: Act Zero
  • Bullet Witch
  • Civilisation Revolution
  • Conan
  • Condemned 2
  • Dark Messiah of Might and Magic – Elements
  • Dark Sector
  • Devil May Cry 4
  • Enchanted Arms
  • Eternal Sonata
  • Gun
  • Infinite Undiscovery
  • Clive Barker’s Jericho
  • Kingdom Under Fire: Circle of Doom
  • Kung Fu Panda
  • Ninja Gaiden II
  • Phantasy Star Universe
  • Prey
  • Project Sylpheed
  • Quake 4
  • Quake Wars
  • Ratatouille
  • Red Alert 3
  • SEGA Superstars Tennis
  • Soul Calibur IV
  • Splinter Cell: Double Agent
  • Tenchu Z
  • TMNT
  • Too Human
  • Turok
  • WALL-E
  • Warhammer Battle March

XBox Live Arcade

Generally with downloadable titles the shortness of the game and the immediacy of the purchase means they get played, but there are still a few that slip through the gaps (Note: I’m not counting HD updates here, because while I haven’t personally played things like Banjo-Kazooie and Duke Nukem 3D on XBLA I have played them in their original forms):

  • Age of Booty
  • Elements of Destruction
  • Outpost Kaloki X
  • Penny Arcade Episode One
  • Penny Arcade Episode Two
  • Puzzle Quest

PlayStation 3

The PS3 was a relatively late arrival for me and as such I primarily only have exclusives for it. Of the games I have I’ve at least played pretty much all of them, leaving only one sitting sadly on the shelf:

  • Folklore

Wii

I’ve had the Wii for as long as the 360 but it doesn’t get played as much. An obvious reason for that is that the console just isn’t targeted at me as much as it is the expanded audience that have gotten into gaming with Nintendo’s console. For the most part the list of unplayed games reflects that and of all three systems this is the one with games that least reflect my personal playing tastes (and I may skip some for that reason):

  • Animal Crossing: Let’s Go to the City
  • Ben 10: Protector of Earth
  • Ben 10 Alien Force
  • Boom Blox
  • Cooking Mama
  • De Blob
  • Dewy’s Adventure
  • Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors
  • Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn
  • Go Diego Go! Great Dinosaur Rescue
  • Go Diego Go! Safari Adventure
  • Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games
  • Mario Kart Wii
  • Mario Party 8
  • MySims
  • MySims Kingdom
  • Nights: Journey Into Dreams
  • Okami
  • New Play Control! Pikmin
  • Rabbids Go Home
  • Red Steel
  • Spore Hero

WiiWare

The WiiWare purchases generally aren’t mine so I’ve not really played any of them. Most of them are Virtual Console purchases of games I used to own and others are WiiWare games that aren’t on the system because managing space is a pain, so the only one left (assuming you can have multiple profiles on it) is:

  • Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: My Life As a King

There we are then, sixty-six games I own (some of which were purchased for full price) but have never touched, and that’s not including previous console generations (which would be just as bad, if not worse), PC games (which span a much longer period of time and most of which require lengthy installs, configurations and hard drive management) and the DS (which I have access to but have never played on).

Starting from tomorrow I’m going to make an effort to start playing all of these games. Rather than try and force myself to play them all to completion (which would make it quite a chore) I’m going to give each game two hours for me to get a feel for it, and then once this project is complete I’ll be able to decide which of them I want to continue on with, if any.

Leave a Reply

