Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 14

Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 14

This post is part of a month-long project, answering thirty topics about movies over thirty days. The subject for the fourteenth day is:

A movie that no one would expect you to love

?

?

I’m bringing the question mark back here because this is one I’m not sure about. My taste in movies is pretty varied (thanks in no small part to a certain film) so I don’t know if there’s anything that’s far enough outside my traditional fare to surprise people. I enjoy brainless action movies, contemplative sci-fi, cartoons and kids films, adventures, foreign films (which obviously don’t all fit into one category but I’m simply talking about enjoying subtitled films in general, which not everybody can), and there are even some romance films (which I’ve mentioned not liking in general) that I like, though there isn’t much in the romantic comedy genre (subgenre?) that appeals.

I suppose liking Brokeback Mountain might be one that some people wouldn’t expect, but that would only be because they simplify the film down to just being about gay cowboys, when as a whole the themes fit comfortably into what I like. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind has raised some eyebrows before when I’ve leant it to others for them to watch and they haven’t enjoyed it (or even been able to get through the whole thing), but that’s more about them than me.

So I really don’t have a film I can think of that fits today’s topic. I’ll continue to think on it but for now I’m just going to have to admit defeat.

Leave a Reply

