Home > Gaming, News (Gaming) > Gaming: I’m not playing StarCraft 2

Gaming: I’m not playing StarCraft 2

I want to, I really do. Last Sunday I even spent a large portion of the day watching YouTube footage of every cutscene and bit of dialogue from the original StarCraft and the Brood War expansion in order to refresh myself of the story, starting from here:

When I watched them it automatically went to the next in sequence through the entire run, but by the looks of it you can use the video responses if that’s not working.

Going over it all again reminds me that the game did tell a decent story and it wasn’t just my memory that had elevated the scheming of Arcturus Mensk, the bravery and guilt of Jim Raynor, the sacrifice of Kerrigan and the internal conflicts of the Protoss up into something more than it was. So I’m looking forward to continuing with that story and seeing where it leads, even if I have no interest in touching the multiplayer.

There’s a big reason why I don’t have the game yet though and it’s not out of some moral objection to Activision Blizzard or anything like that. No, the reason is simple:

StarCraft 2 Specs

Click the image to see the full tech comparison

(Comparison courtesy of System Requirements Labs)

My PC simply can’t run it at anything close to an acceptable level, struggling even to meet the minimum requirements, leaving me needing a major PC upgrade before I consider it. The problem there is that I can’t afford a PC upgrade, and even if I could it would be a struggle to justify it because I already have an Xbox 360 and a PlayStation 3 that play most of the big games released these days. PC exclusives are rare and I’d ideally need plenty to really justify the upgrade. At the moment the selection is:

  • StarCraft 2 – PC exclusive.
  • Crysis – PC exclusive, but the sequel isn’t.
  • Dragon Age: Origins – Also on the consoles but has a different combat system on PC that’s more to my tastes.
  • Just Cause 2 – Also on the consoles but has some fun mods on PC that are said to improve the game. Requires Windows Vista at a minimum.
  • The S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series (Shadow of Chernobyl, Clear Sky, Call of Pripyat) – PC exclusives.
  • The Dear Esther update – PC exclusive update of a mod that’s looking phenomenal.

That’s in addition to things like The Sims 3 and Fallout 3 that I can already play but not with decent performance. So the list is building, with upcoming releases like Civilisation 5 and Diablo 3 adding to the list in the future, but it’s not there yet. Hopefully by the time I’m able to justify it I’ll actually have the money to do so. In the meantime though it means I’m left reading about people playing StarCraft 2 and being utterly unable to join in and see the next part of a story that’s taken Blizzard a decade to get around to telling.

Leave a Reply

