Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 15

Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 15

This post is part of a month-long project, answering thirty topics about movies over thirty days. The subject for the fifteenth day is:

A  character who you can relate to the most

This is another one I struggled with. I guess I mostly consume fiction for escapism so I’m not looking to relate to characters and identify myself in them so much as I’m after the opposite, immersing myself in people who aren’t me. In my teenage years I liked to think I saw something of myself in certain characters of American Beauty – Lester’s initial sense of being trapped in a routine he doesn’t enjoy, Jane’s concerns about being ordinary and unremarkable – but that was very much a teenage thing. I suppose an okay fit these days would be:

Seymour (Ghost World)

Seymour (Ghost World)

(Click the image for a link to the source)

Seymour has been single for a while and feels almost doomed to always be alone, he’s a loner and a nerd with a lot of specific knowledge that doesn’t really benefit him to know. He seems to accept that his life isn’t going to help him find love but at the same time has mostly accepted it, even though he still builds brief meetings up into possibly meaningful connections. He’s something of a loser/victim in general, only coming into the plot because he took a risk (albeit a fairly safe one that he probably didn’t expect to go anywhere) by putting a personal ad in the ‘missed connections’ section. The ad is seen by the film’s two main characters, Enid and Becky, and they decide to use it to play a prank on him.

It’s not a perfect fit though. While Seymour is something of a nerd with regards to his interest in vintage records he doesn’t actually seem to like it or the people he associates with through his hobby, that he’s kind of trapped his life into a corner:

Enid: I would kill to have stuff like this.

Seymour: Please, go ahead and kill me.

Enid: Oh come on, what are you talking about?

Seymour: You think it’s healthy to obsessively collect things? Can’t connect with other people so you fill your life with stuff, just like all the rest of these other pathetic collector losers.

In general I don’t think it’s a bad fit as I can relate to some of what Seymour feels. I’ll continue to think on it though and see if anything better comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

