Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 27

Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 27

This post is part of a month-long project, answering thirty topics about movies over thirty days. The subject for the twenty-seventh day is:

A movie that you wish you had seen in theaters

I think this is only going to be a short topic because there’s not that much to say on it. Assuming the cinema isn’t filled with people chatting, children crying or noisy food being consumed it can be a very immersive experience, sat in a dark room before a giant picture, the rest of the world tuned out. I don’t think there’s much to say about it though so I’ll rattle off a couple of films:

Cinema

No one film here, so have a picture of an empty cinema instead.

(Click the image for a link to the source)

For me this is mostly going to be about science fiction, films with unique (and often beautiful) visuals that would have looked fantastic on the big screen. That means things like 2001: A Space Odyssey, Blade Runner, Sunshine and WALL-E, all visually strong films, the first two released before I was born and the latter being ones that I didn’t make it to the cinema to see. Serenity is another one, both because it would have looked good on a cinema screen and because I would have liked to have been able to support it, not able to do so because I hadn’t seen the series and had no awareness of it until after the film had disappeared from cinemas and the UK’s Sci-Fi channel started showing it again.

There are other great films that I’m not so sure about (such as Alien, Aliens, The Terminator and Terminator 2: Judgement Day, The Dark Knight), films that don’t have the same sort of visuals but might have been enhanced by cinema viewing. I’m not sure because I don’t think viewing a film at the cinema automatically makes the experience better, which is partly the problem cinemas have faced lately, justifying the trip and expense. The films above are ones that I’m pretty sure could have benefited, but even then I don’t think I missed out on too much. Essentially the biggest draw for me to see a film at the cinema is just because they release there before anywhere else, and these days seeing a film as soon as possible just isn’t that big a concern for me.

  1. August 15, 2010 at 18:02

    Me, I’d love to see Lawrence of Arabia in a theatre. Up in Seattle, where I used to live, they showed it each year at the Cinerama, but I never got to go. I’ve always wished I had.

    • August 15, 2010 at 20:00

      I only have the one cinema within ten miles of here and it’s a proper mainstream place that probably couldn’t afford to set screens aside for classic movies even if the management wanted to, so seeing older films at a cinema just isn’t an option. If I’m honest I imagine that even if they did regularly show classics it would be something that I’d think was good of them to do, but then rarely actually make the effort to go.

  1. August 14, 2010 at 20:50
  2. August 18, 2010 at 16:44
  3. September 16, 2010 at 14:14

Leave a Reply

