Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 28

Film: 30 Movies in 30 Days: Day 28

This post is part of a month-long project, answering thirty topics about movies over thirty days. The subject for the twenty-eighth day is:

Favourite movie from your favorite director

Unfortunately this is going to have to go the same way as the favourite actor/actress topic:

?

?

Just like that topic there are a lot of directors I like, but not any that I can outright say are my favourites. So once again it’s list time:


  • Ridley Scott – Primarily for his excellent sci-fi films Alien and Blade Runner, but Gladiator is another great one and I enjoyed Matchstick Men, Legend and American Gangster. There are other films of his I didn’t particularly like though (Kingdom of Heaven, G.I. Jane) and it’s been a long time since the the thought of a new Ridley Scott film has excited me.
  • James Cameron – I’ve enjoyed every James Cameron film I’ve seen, if not all to the same extent. The Terminator, Aliens, Terminator 2: Judgement Day, True Lies, Titanic and Avatar are all good to great films, but the latter two are the only films he’s directed in the past thirteen years and Avatar was a much better technical showcase than it was a film on its own merits.
  • Steven Spielberg – Through Jaws, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, the Indiana Jones quadrilogy, E.T the Extra Terrestrial, Jurassic Park, Saving Private Ryan, A.I. Artificial Intelligence, Catch Me If You Can, Minority Report and The Terminal, Spielberg has had a pretty good run of decent, enjoyable films. There are a few mis-steps along the way like War of the Worlds or The Lost World: Jurassic Park but the good by far outweighs the bad. I’ve actually never seen Schindler’s List, which is a pretty big oversight on my part.
  • Christopher Nolan – Four of the five Nolan films I’ve seen have all been excellent (Memento, Batman Begins, The Prestige and The Dark Knight), but I didn’t think Insomnia was that great. By most counts the only other two films he’s directed, Following and Inception, are also good.

Those are the four main choices I can think of. There are others who may well be brilliant but I haven’t seen enough of, like Alfonso Cuarón (whose Harry Potter film was possibly the best of the lot and he also directed the excellent Children of Men), Stanley Kubrick (I’ve only ever seen The Shining and 2001: A Space Odyssey from him, a pretty major gap in my film viewing), and David Fincher (who directed both Fight Club and Se7en, as well as the less good Alien³). I don’t think I would ever be able to outright say one director is my absolute favourite though.

Leave a Reply

