Home > News (Personal), Personal > Personal: Working for the four-day weekend

Personal: Working for the four-day weekend

You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do

I think most things can be referenced back to The Simpsons or Futurama these days. I also considered a shot of Homer and his "Woo-hoo! Four-day weekend!" line.

(Click the image for a link to the ridiculously large source)

During the brief few months when I did personal recaps (all three accessible through the Monthly Review tag) I mentioned I was looking for work. Thanks to a fairly spotty work history and lack of good references that went on for a long time and I’ve only just managed to find employment, and it’s not really an ideal situation (hence the picture above).

It’s warehouse work (not the administration or data entry jobs I’ve been after), shifting palettes around, keeping them stocked up and assessing their quality so no damaged ones make it back into use, so it’s very physical work. It’s also going to be in shifts of twelve hours each, a fairly major burden on my time, and they’ll be night shifts, going from 7pm to 7am. The night shift was my choice though, with it seeming preferable to either 7am to 7pm (which in winter months would mean working through the entirety of the daylight hours, as well as essentially not seeing my younger relatives with early bed times) or 11am to 11pm (which pretty much takes up the whole day and evening).

As I alluded to in the title of the post it’s also only four days a week, with four days between the next set of shifts. During the past week I’ve been training during the day, mostly on a regular nine to five schedule and getting home at 6pm, leaving me with maybe five usable hours each evening to get through my RSS feeds and watch something on TV/DVD or get a bit of gaming time in. That means two full days off plus about 25 usable hours, whereas on my actual hours it will be three full days off each week (as well as the fourth day that extends into the next week) plus maybe a couple of usable hours each day. So on my work days I’ll have very little time to myself and won’t be able to get through the 300-400 RSS items each day (which might mean some major pruning is required) and I’ll likely blog less, but overall it works out slightly better than a 9 to 5, assuming I’m not too exhausted to do anything.

So as I said above it’s not ideal, but it does mean I’m earning money instead of running on overdrafts or unemployment benefits, it gives me something else to put into my work history instead of a big gap, and gives me plenty of time to look for other jobs on my off days (plus it’s often easier to find a job if employers see you already have one). It’s not exactly what I really want to do or see myself doing for the rest of my life, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

Categories: News (Personal), Personal Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. September 2, 2010 at 23:25

Leave a Reply

