Home > Features (Gaming), Gaming, News (Personal), Personal > Gaming: The 2010 Played List

Gaming: The 2010 Played List

This is the second of a series of posts looking back at my entertainment consumption over 2010. I’ve already posted about 2010’s gaming backlog, and still to come are posts about games I finished, the films I watched, the DVD backlog, the TV I watched and the books I read. There won’t be a game of the year post because that’s an ongoing project with a long way to go.

Sitting squarely between the games I’ve not even touched and the games I managed to finish are those games that have been played but left incomplete, or which maybe aren’t possible to complete in the sense of finishing a campaign or series of levels. Here they all are, listed by system, and if I’m not still currently working on them I’ll include a reason for why they remain incomplete:

Click the image for a link to the source.

Xbox 360

  • Alone in the DarkFor Project Pile of Shame.
  • Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts – Watched somebody else finish it, lost interest.
  • Beowulf: The GameFor Project Pile of Shame.
  • Blacksite: Area 51For Project Pile of Shame.
  • Bomberman: Act ZeroFor Project Pile of Shame.
  • Civilisation Revolution – No real completion criteria.
  • Left 4 Dead – Not played multiplayer, not comfortable declaring it complete.
  • Marvel Ultimate Alliance – Already finished, was playing again with somebody who lost interest.
  • Viva Piñata: Trouble in Paradise – The game is technically one I occasionally dip back into, but haven’t done so for a while.

PS3

  1. Buzz! Quiz TV – No real completion criteria.
  2. Final Fantasy 13 – Lost the will to continue.
  3. LittleBigPlanet – Already completed, just playing around with create mode.
  4. Mini Ninjas – Wasn’t hooked by it, drifted away.
  5. WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2010 – Not sure what would qualify as completed, but whatever it is I didn’t play it enough to do it.

Wii

  • New Super Mario Bros. Wii – Playing with somebody, on their schedule.

PC

  • Aliens Vs Predator Classic 2000 – Bought on impulse in Steam sale, will go back to it.
  • Commandos: Behind Enemy Lines – Bought on impulse in Steam sale, will go back to it.
  • Deus ExFor Project Pile of Shame.
  • Grand Theft Auto: San AndreasFor Project Pile of Shame.
  • Half-Life 2: Episode One – Was playing it around other games and it got shunted aside.
  • Left 4 Dead – Not played multiplayer, not comfortable declaring it complete.
  • Left 4 Dead 2 – Not played multiplayer, not comfortable declaring it complete.
  • Pokémon Leaf Green (emulated) – Playing alongside a relative to introduce them to Pokémon and see if they’d like the newer games for their DS.
  • Team Fortress 2 – No real completion criteria
  • The Sims 3
  • ToeJam and Earl: Panic on Funkotron (emulated) – Playing with somebody, but they didn’t like it like they did the first game.

XBLA

  • ‘Splosion Man
  • Costume Quest
  • Limbo – Became mildly frustrated, switched to playing Costume Quest.

PSN

  • Pain – No real completion criteria.

PC Downloads

  • Digital: A Love Story – Enjoyed, but ultimately lost interest.
  • Dwarf Fortress – No real completion criteria that I know of.
  • Peggle Nights – Free gift from PopCap, play from time to time.
  • Plants Vs Zombies
  • Serious Sam HD: The Second Encounter – Blitzed through most of it on a Steam free weekend, didn’t finish it in time.

I don’t think there’s anything in there that’s particularly disappointing. These days I do make an effort to finish games I start before starting new ones, and mostly the games I stopped playing are because they don’t have an end or because they were part of Project Pile of Shame, which I didn’t intend to finish anyway but now at least have a better understanding of what they are.

Of the few games that I officially abandoned Mini Ninjas is something I’ll probably go back to at some point but just didn’t get hooked by at the time, Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts was a good game that I feel I experienced all the key parts of (including seeing the climax) and did blog about last year, and Final Fantasy 13 was a game that I gave a lot more time than it deserved before realising I didn’t have any interest in playing any more or any feeling of investment in the 25+ hours I’d already sunk into it. It didn’t feel like Square respected the sheer amount of time players were investing and I wasn’t about to spend even more time on it just because I’d already wasted so much. I have plenty of other games I can play instead.

Leave a Reply

