Home > Features (Film), Film, News (Personal), Personal > Film: 2010’s Watched Films

Film: 2010’s Watched Films

This is the fourth of a series of posts looking back at my entertainment consumption over 2010. I’ve already posted about 2010′s gaming backlog, the games I played, what games I played each month and what games I finished and still to come are posts about what films I watched each month, the DVD backlog, the TV I watched and the books I read. There won’t be a game of the year post because that’s an ongoing project with a long way to go.

I only went to the cinema four times this year, and only twice with 3D glasses. Click the image for a link to the source.

In 2010 I watched 131 films, 58 of which I’d not seen before (44%). In this post I’ll list them in alphabetical order, putting 2010 releases in bold and films I watched for the first time in italics, and a few comments will follow at the bottom:

  • 2046
  • 101 Dalmations (1961)
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • 28 Days Later
  • 28 Weeks Later
  • 4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days
  • A.I. Artificial Intelligence
  • Aeon Flux
  • Airplane
  • Alice in Wonderland (2010)
  • Amélie
  • Apocalypto
  • Back to the Future
  • Back to the Future Part II
  • Back to the Future Part III
  • Battle For the Planet of the Apes
  • Beneath the Planet of the Apes
  • Big Fish
  • Blade Runner
  • Blame it on Fidel
  • Braveheart
  • Brazil
  • Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
  • Candy
  • Citizen Kane
  • City of God
  • Close Encounters of the Third Kind
  • Conquest of the Planet of the Apes
  • Crash (2004)
  • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
  • Dan in Real Life
  • Deep Impact
  • E.T. The Extra Terrestrial
  • Eastern Promises
  • Enchanted
  • Escape From the Planet of the Apes
  • Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
  • Fantastic Four
  • Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  • Fight Club
  • Finding Nemo
  • Garden State
  • Ghost World
  • Good Will Hunting
  • Goya’s Ghosts
  • Grave of the Fireflies
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Honey, I Shrunk the Kids
  • House of Flying Daggers
  • Howl’s Moving Castle
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • Iron Man
  • Jackie Brown
  • Kiki’s Delivery Service
  • Kingpin
  • La Antena
  • Labyrinth
  • Lady in the Water
  • Laputa: Castle in the Sky
  • Last of the Mohicans
  • Let the Right One In
  • Little Miss Sunshine
  • Lolita
  • Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
  • Malice in Wonderland
  • Michael Clayton
  • Moon
  • National Treasure: Book of Secrets
  • Nausicaa: Of the Valley of the Wind
  • Night at the Museum
  • Night at the Museum 2
  • Over the Hedge
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
  • Planet of the Apes (1961)
  • Planet of the Apes (2001)
  • Pom Poko
  • Porco Rosso
  • Predator
  • Predator 2
  • Prince of Persia
  • Princess Mononoke
  • Rambo
  • Rambo III
  • Rambo: First Blood
  • Rambo: First Blood – Part II
  • Red Eye
  • Road to Perdition
  • Robin Hood (1973)
  • Runaway Jury
  • Sherlock Holmes (2000)
  • Shrek Forever After
  • Sita Sings the Blues
  • Solaris (2002)
  • Solaris (1972)
  • Spider-Man
  • Spider-Man 2
  • Spider-Man 3
  • Spirited Away
  • Starchaser: The Legend of Orin
  • Tales From Earthsea
  • Tales of Despereaux
  • Team America: World Police
  • The Abyss
  • The Breakfast Club
  • The Castle of Cagliostro
  • The Cat Returns
  • The Darjeeling Limited
  • The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  • The Evil Dead
  • The Eye (2002)
  • The Fly (1986)
  • The Host
  • The Jungle Book
  • The Lion King
  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Magnificent Seven
  • The Transporter 2
  • Titan A.E.
  • Toy Story
  • Toy Story 2
  • Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
  • Treasure Planet
  • Tron
  • Two Brothers
  • Up
  • Vanilla Sky
  • Watchmen
  • Waterloo
  • Whisper of the Heart
  • X-Men
  • X-Men 2
  • X-Men 3: The Last Stand

The small number of 2010 releases above should give you some idea about why I don’t maintain a ‘films of the year’ post like I do for games, as I just don’t watch new releases in anything close to a timely manner. I wouldn’t rate any of the four 2010 releases I did see as being particularly special.

Quite a few films in the list were watched as part of my continued efforts to educate my nephew in film and pop culture. Pretty much all of the Studio Ghibli (except for Grave of the Fireflies), Disney and superhero films are there for that reason, as well as the Back to the Future trilogy and things like Honey, I Shrunk the Kids. A lot of these films are ones that he already owned but just wouldn’t pick up to watch on his own, preferring instead to watch the same few over and over. He generally still goes back to those same few films afterwards, but at least he’s watching new things with me.

Sticking just with the films I’ve not seen before I’d have to say that personal highlights were City of God, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Let the Right One In, Little Miss Sunshine, The Abyss, The Breakfast Club, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly and The Host. There are also a few others from the list that I’d like to add a quick comment on:

  • Citizen Kane – I already covered this on the first day of the ’30 movies in 30 Days project’ but it’s worth reiterating just how impressed I was with the film. With all the weight of expectation that comes from watching something regularly hailed as one of the greatest films ever made (in addition to knowing the meaning behind the “Rosebud” puzzle and the fact that it released almost seventy years ago) it didn’t seem like this could ever live up to its legend, but it really does. It’s an incredible film.
  • Dan in Real Life – I didn’t cover this on the blog but I really did enjoy it. I prefer Steve Carrell in films like this (and Little Miss Sunshine) over the wackier comedy performances of his, and while I don’t think there were any real surprises once the general storyline had been established I still found it a pleasure to watch.
  • Goya’s Ghosts – This is also one I’ve previously covered here. I don’t think I could call it a great film but some parts in particular really appealed to me and I was genuinely drawn into the story.
  • Moon – Of every film I watched this year Moon is the one that I keep considering watching again. As I mentioned when last I talked about it I love sci-fi films about isolated crews dealing with problems and being so far from home, and Moon is a brilliant entry in that narrow genre. I love its story, its ideas and its performances and really do need to watch it again.
  • Rambo: First Blood – I’d not seen a single Rambo film until the very newest one came out, which I quite liked. Long before seeing that one I thought all the films were just about the main character rampaging through a foreign country and building up ridiculous bodycounts, so it was quite a surprise to watch the first one and discover it all takes place in the US and has Rambo as a returning soldier who simply snaps when bullied by the police. It was nothing like I was expecting and I enjoyed it for what it was.
  • Solaris (2002) – While I marked this above as being a film I’d seen before I didn’t actually have any memory of it. When I first watched the newer Solaris I was feeling quite sleepy and it’s really not paced in a way that’s going to keep you awake. Which isn’t to say it’s boring because it really isn’t, and I’m glad I made the effort to rewatch it rather than writing it off as dull simply because I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to watch it before.

Is there anything I’d to to change about how I watch films? I don’t really think so. I’d maybe like to watch new releases sooner, but right now I don’t have much interest in making the effort (or spending the money) required to travel to the nearest cinema to watch them there, and new DVDs are generally more expensive than I’m comfortable paying.

It might be worth looking into a rental service or subscribing to some movie channels, but it’s not really something I consider a priority. I just don’t feel the drive to keep up with film releases like I do with games (and even with gaming I’m comfortable waiting for prices to fall). Citizen Kane demonstrated that a good film will still be good, however long I wait.

Rambo: First Blood
Rambo: First Blood – Part II
Rambo III
Rambo
Planet of the Apes
Beneath the Planet of the Apes
2001: A Space Odyssey
Escape From the Planet of the Apes
Conquest of the Planet of the Apes
Tales of Despereaux
Battle For the Planet of the Apes
Brazil
Close Encounters of the Third Kind
Citizen Kane
Waterloo
Team America: World Police
Sita Sings the Blues
Tron
Braveheart
A.I. Artificial Intelligence
Big Fish
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Blade Runner
Ghost World
Enchanted
Garden State
Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
Spirited Away
Howl’s Moving Castle
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
House of Flying Daggers
Princess Mononoke
Laputa: Castle in the Sky
Nausicaa: Of the Valley of the Wind
Kiki’s Delivery Service
Porco Rosso
Apocalypto
Pom Poko
Up
Two Brothers
The Castle of Cagliostro
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
The Cat Returns
Last of the Mohicans
Whisper of the Heart
Inglourious Basterds
Tales From Earthsea
The Fly
Runaway Jury
Over the Hedge
Honey, I Shrunk the Kids
Titan A.E.
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Alice in Wonderland
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Malice in Wonderland
Sherlock Holmes
Night at the Museum
Night at the Museum 2
Treasure Planet
Spider-Man
Spider-Man 2
Spider-Man 3
Iron Man
X-Men
Solaris
X-Men 2
The Abyss
Solaris
Predator
Predator 2
X-Men 3: The Last Stand
The Evil Dead
Aeon Flux
Fantastic Four
Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer
Planet of the Apes
The Transporter 2
Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
Let the Right One In
Labyrinth
The Breakfast Club
The Lion King
Crash
La Antena
4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days
The Jungle Book
National Treasure: Book of Secrets
Robin Hood
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
Little Miss Sunshine
Michael Clayton
City of God
Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
101 Dalmations
The Darjeeling Limited
The Little Mermaid
Finding Nemo
Toy Story
Toy Story 2
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
The Magnificent Seven
Amélie
Shrek Forever After
Fight Club
Grave of the Fireflies
Dan in Real Life
Eastern Promises
The Host
The Eye
Goya’s Ghosts
Lady in the Water
2046
Jackie Brown
Kingpin
Red Eye
Airplane
Deep Impact
Road to Perdition
Starchaser: The Legend of Orin
Candy
Vanilla Sky
Watchmen
Moon
Good Will Hunting
E.T. The Extra Terrestrial
Lolita
28 Days Later
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1
Blame it on Fidel
Back to the Future
Back to the Future Part II
Back to the Future Part III
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 13, 2011 at 15:07
  2. January 28, 2012 at 18:56

Leave a Reply

