Home > Gaming > Gaming: Still to come

Gaming: Still to come

My Game of the Year posts are ongoing projects. Having recently added the rest of the 2010 games I’ve played so far I figured I’d make a list of everything I’m still waiting to play before I’d consider each list close to complete. They’re never going to have every game, of course, or even every big game, just those that interest me. So here’s what’s still to come:

2009

  • Dragon Age: Origins – Currently playing, but it’s going to take a while.
  • Resident Evil 5 – I’m not so sure about this one. The demo was okay in co-op despite the poor choices Capcom made about what bits to include, but I’ll likely be playing the full game solo.
  • Tekken 6 – I don’t expect this one to contest the top spot, but I do enjoy the series so I want to play it.

2010

  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood – I’m one of those people who couldn’t muster up any enthusiasm about this game, despite loving Assassin’s Creed 2. It really is supposed to be good though, not just a quick cash-in.
  • Bayonetta – I’m not 100% sure I’ll bother with this, as I’m not a big fan of this style of game.
  • Dante’s Inferno – As with Bayonetta I’m just not keen on this kind of game.
  • Deadly Premonition – This has already been bought and is likely going to be the next game I play.
  • Disney Epic Mickey
  • Enslaved: Odyssey to the West – I’m currently playing through this.
  • Fable 3
  • Fallout: New Vegas – As I’ve covered before I’m waiting to finish all the extra Fallout 3 content before jumping into this.
  • God of War 3 – I group this with games like Bayonetta and Dante’s Inferno but I think I’ll definitely play this one, if more to see what becomes of Kratos than because I particularly like this kind of game.
  • Goldeneye 007 – I’m a big enough fan of the original game to want to see what’s been done with this update/remake.
  • Just Cause 2 – For me this is a PC purchase, but I don’t have a PC capable of running it well.
  • LEGO Harry Potter – Years 1-4 – Slowly working through this on somebody else’s schedule.
  • Metro 2033 – As with Just Cause 2 I consider this a game I want to play on PC.
  • Red Dead Redemption – I’m not a big fan of Rockstar’s approach to open world games, so I don’t know what I’ll make of this.
  • Risen – By most accounts this is a rough one but I’m interested in playing it. It’s PC-only though, which is automatically an obstacle.
  • Starcraft 2 – This is another one being kept out of play by my inferior gaming PC.
  • Vanquish – I enjoyed the demo but I’m not particularly enthused at the thought of playing this.

There’s still plenty of 2010 to work through then before I can properly work on 2011’s games. Four months into the year, this is what is already waiting for a purchase (though some of them are of a much lower priority than others):

2011

  • Bulletstorm
  • Crysis 2
  • Dead Space 2
  • Dragon Age 2
  • Killzone 3
  • Kirby’s Epic Yarn – This was actually a 2010 release in the US.
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Portal 2
  • The Sims Medieval
  • Two Worlds 2
  • WWE All Stars

Deliberately falling out of sync with current releases by about a year hasn’t been much of an issue for me so far. It does keep me out of certain discussions but saves me a great deal of money, as well as removing any sense of needing to keep up or hurry through something to get to the next game. I rather like going at my own pace and playing games somewhat distanced from the hype.

Categories: Gaming Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

