Home > Film, Monthly Report (Film), Opinions (Film) > Film: June 2011’s Films

Film: June 2011’s Films

Almost a month late, we have the June round-up posts. Having covered games, television and books, next up is the month’s film viewing:

It almost seemed silly to make a portrait image with just one person in it.

Image source: Vivian

After last month’s decent innings we’re back to another poor showing, just a single film. There’s no real reason for it, save that I didn’t feel like watching a film so didn’t make the effort. What was the one exception then? Read on:

June 11th - In Search of a Midnight Kiss

After watching something on TV I was about to turn it off as a film started on BBC1. It had a man, Wilson, on the verge of turning thirty, alone and unhappy, all ready to spend a lonely New Year’s Eve shut away from the world, until he’s encouraged to do something about it (placing a personals ad on Craigslist). It quickly leads him to Vivian and they spend New Year’s Eve together, getting to know one another.

I place no importance on New Year’s myself and don’t celebrate it, but the general scenario appealed to me and I ended up watching the whole thing. It’s a good film, and though Vivian starts off almost excessively quirky (for a while she reminded me of Natalie Portman’s character in Garden State) its a façade she soon drops as her and Wilson get closer. Ultimately there’s no sense of it being a destined romance or other clichés from love stories, and I enjoyed it.

*****

June Verdict

Quality – The only film I watched was one I enjoyed, so I guess that’s a win for quality.

Quantity – Out of sixteen days in June when I could have comfortably watched a film, I ended up watching just one. That’s not great.

Timeliness – The one film I watched was a 2008 release. Not the most timely of viewings, but not terrible.

Newness – I’d not seen the film before.

Goals – My goals for June were:

  1. ” I’d like to watch a similar amount of films [to May’s eleven] as I have a similar amount of days off” – Failed
  2. “watching some newer releases” – Failed
  3. “only watching things I’ve not seen before” – Achieved
  4. “see any film at the cinema” – Failed

Not great then. I only achieved the goal I did because I only watched one film. All four goals will roll over into July, and I may actually achieved the fourth for once because July is when the final Harry Potter film releases, and seeing them at the cinema is always a family event that requires minimal effort on my part to attend. If so then it will mean it only took me seven months to achieve that fairly simple goal.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 5, 2011 at 15:09

Leave a Reply

