Home > Gaming, Opinions (Gaming), Videos (Gaming) > Gaming: The Daily Creed 02 – Kiss the horse

Gaming: The Daily Creed 02 – Kiss the horse

The Daily Creed is a series of (mostly) bitesize posts about my ongoing playthrough of Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, sequel to what is still currently my fourth favourite game of 2009. The first post is here.

Imagine the post's title being sung by Sebastian the crab.

I’m a big fan of Jesper Kyd’s soundtracks in these games. There aren’t many game composers whose work stands out but Kyd is one of them. In fact, when I first played Assassin’s Creed 2 I didn’t even know he was doing the soundtrack, and it was only when playing the game that I heard one piece of music that reminded me of a piece from one of the Hitman games, looked it up and discovered that it is in fact his work.

Anyway, one of the earlier missions has you retrieving Mario’s horse. It’s very trivial, pretty much just a quick tutorial. The music that plays during this mission is from Assassin’s Creed 2 (there’s a lot of asset re-use here, inevitable in an annual sequel) called Florence Tarentella:

I don’t remember hearing it in the second game (the name suggests it was used in the battle against the giant spider boss), but hearing it in this one I was immediately reminded of this:

My mother is a big fan of The Kiss and The Last of the Mohicans, and when I played Florence Tarantella for her she immediately recognised the similiarities, so there’s definitely something there. I’m not suggesting Jesper Kyd is borrowing from Trevor Jones & Randy Edelman or anything like that, I just thought it was an interesting coincidence. They’re both great pieces of music.

Next on The Daily Creed: Press square to win.

Previously on the Daily Creed: “Oh, that’s right.”

Leave a Reply

