Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film – Quick Thoughts: Annie Hall

Film – Quick Thoughts: Annie Hall

Annie Hall
Annie Hall, directed by Woody Allen
Written by: Woody Allen & Marshall Brickman
Starring: Woody Allen & Diane Keaton
My rating: 3 of 5

I’ve never seen a Woody Allen film before, but I don’t really know why that is. He’s been incredibly prolific so I would have thought the chances are pretty high of watching one even accidentally, but it never happened. I don’t think either of my parents are fans of his so there were never any of his films in the house, and since I’ve started building up my own collection his work is just something I’ve never gotten around to.

Annie Hall is often brought up as a film people really like so that’s what I went with. It’s essentially about Alvy (Allen) reflecting on how his relationship with Annie (Keaton) went wrong, chronicling his time before her, how they met and ultimately how they ended. The two central characters dominate the film, which works because they’re both fun and likeable, even if Alvy has a tendency to treat every sentence as a quip. Allen breaks the fourth wall sometimes, but seeing as it’s a story Alvy is telling that kind of thing works. It’s a good film.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

