Home > Film, Opinions (Film) > Film – Quick Thoughts: The Inbetweeners Movie

Film – Quick Thoughts: The Inbetweeners Movie

The Inbetweeners
The Inbetweeners Movie, directed by Ben Palmer
Written by: Iain Morris & Damon Beesley
Starring: Simon Bird, James Buckley, Blake Harrison & Joe Thomas
My rating: 3 of 5

I’ve never seen the series this follows on from so I have no previous connection to the cast, and for that reason it’s not something I would have chosen to watch. However, my sister had seen it and enjoyed it and our mother had expressed an interest in it after seeing a trailer, so I bumped it up to the top of my LoveFilm queue and gave it a watch.

Without knowing the cast in advance half of the main characters didn’t really appeal to me, their languages and attitudes (especially towards women) being fairly repulsive. I was never much of a ‘lad’ even when I was that age so they really didn’t click with me. It played out mostly like a standard holiday movie, a group of young men going on holiday for sex, and pretty much all the women are incredibly beautiful (especially the one who plays Lucy, who was very sweet).

You can pretty much predict the arcs for each character from the situations they start in – the virgin, the man who only values appearances, the recently separated one still hung up on his ex, and the already attached – but it’s still funny. At times it genuinely made me laugh out loud (their initial attempt to approach some women in a club was hilarious) and it’s a good film.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

